Skip to Content Skip to Navigation
Join the email list!

Keith Gates: Music

Ghost Sonata

piano transcription


Other versions of Ghost Sonata may be heard here:
Sonatina for Oboe and Piano
Concert Sonatina for Alto Saxophone

Ghost Sonata is a transcription of the second movement of the Sonatina for Oboe and Piano. We have chosen this name because the Sonatina was originally written as incidental music for Strindberg's play The Ghost Sonata. The Sonatina was later orchestrated for alto saxophone and small chamber ensemble, with a newly-written third movement, and was called Concert Sonatina for Alto Saxophone.